ACCESSIBILITY COMMITTEE REPORT

Submitted by Jennifer K. Wesely, Chair University of North Florida

The Accessibility Committee convened in Atlanta on August 15, 2003. At that time, members included Lloyd Klein (Chair), Jennifer Wesely (Chair-Elect) and Jeremy Brunson. Present at the August 2003 meeting were Lloyd Klein, Jennifer Wesely and Linda Morrison.

The 2003-2004 Accessibility Committee consists of Jennifer Wesely (Chair), Ira Silver (Chair-Elect), and Linda Morrison.

The 2003-2004 Accessibility Committee convenes Friday August 13th, 2004 at 10:15 AM in San Francisco. Depending on the preference of the Chair-Elect, the 2004 meeting will be summarized either as an Addendum to this report or in the Accessibility Committee Report for 2004-2005.

At the 2003 meeting and/or during the 2003-2004 year, the following were discussed:

- 1. How to advise SSSP of procedures to make the meeting accessible.
- 2. The procedure logistics regarding the notice of individuals with accessibility needs, including how the registration form includes space for these needs to be identified.
- 3. The mechanisms through which accessibility need recommendations are made to SSSP.
- 4. The effectiveness of the SSSP newsletter and registration form in creating avenues of information for those with accessibility needs.
- 5. The purpose of the SSSP Annual Meeting feedback form and its effectiveness in informing committees and officers of the barriers to accessibility at the SSSP Annual Meetings.
- 6. The possibility of those with disabilities being considered eligible for a SSSP Minority Scholarship. This is being determined by the Minority Scholarship Committee.

In the past year, the Accessibility Committee worked with the Executive Office to:

- 1. Review the language for registration to make participants aware of accessibility accommodations
- 2. Be available to those with accessibility needs in planning services for the 2004 SSSP Annual Meeting in San Francisco

A copy of this report will be forwarded to next year's committee members. Thank you to SSSP for their support of this committee.